Baked Oatmeal with blueberries & crystallized ginger

I have been asked if I ever baked using oatmeal.  So, this week I decided to do something with oatmeal.  Actually, a more difficult task than I originally thought.  Turns out, I couldn’t find many recipes using oatmeal (except for cookies, but another time for that).  I was thinking of an oatmeal-blueberry muffin, but found an interesting recipe for Baked Oatmeal in the King Arthur Flour Whole Grain Baking cookbook (2006, pages 550-551) instead.   This recipe uses both steel-cut oats and old-fashioned rolled oats.  I used Bob’s Red Mill Steel Cut Oats and Quaker Oats Old Fashioned Oats, both found in local grocery stores, with fresh blueberries.

There is no other flour in this Baked Oatmeal, so it doesn’t set up like a coffee cake or even a spoon bread.  More like a thick oatmeal cereal.  Besides the expected spices of cinnamon and nutmeg, this recipe calls for crystallized ginger.  I’d say that all together it produces a very satisfying and quite tasty new approach to your everyday oatmeal.

 

Baked Oatmeal with Blueberries

Baked Oatmeal with Blueberries

I ate my Baked Oatmeal with a dollop of plain yogurt on top.  Ron had one bowl with milk and a second bowl with a fried egg on top.  He liked the baked oatmeal with the fried egg the best.  I’m sticking with yogurt.

Baked Oatmeal with dollop of plain yogurt

This would make a very good addition to a breakfast or brunch.  Depending on the number of other dishes you have, this recipe will serve from 8 to 16 guests.

Enjoy!

BYOB

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

