Whole Grain Blueberry Muffins & Cranberry-Nut Rye Bread

This was a week of baking favorite goodies:  blueberry muffins for us and cranberry-walnut rye bread both for us and for Ron to take to friends.  All using whole grains, of course, since we’re trying to make baked goods which are still acceptable within a diabetic diet.

Going back to one of my favorite recipe books, Betty Crocker’s Cookbook (1974, page 47), I adopted their popular muffins recipe to make a wholesome blueberry muffin.  I used whole wheat, spelt, and gluten flours while also cutting down on the amount of salt called for.  Here’s my changed recipe:

1 egg

1 cup buttermilk

¼ cup salad oil

1 cup whole wheat four

1 cup spelt four

1 Tbs gluten flour

¾ of ¼ cup blue agave

2 tsp baking powder

½ tsp soda

½ tsp salt

1 cup blueberries

Heat the oven to 400 degrees.  Grease 12 muffin cups.

Mix egg, milk, oil, and blue agave together.  Mix whole wheat, spelt, gluten, baking powder, soda, and salt together.  Add to liquids, stirring until moistened.  Add blueberries.

Drop into muffin cups.  Bake 20-25 minutes.  Remove to wire rack.

12 muffins.

The light texture of these muffins surprised me.  It seems to me to be much like the muffins I used to make using only all-purpose flour.  So, I almost feel guilty eating them – how can they be “healthy” and still be so light!

The spelt flour is about 17% protein and 58% carbohydrates, with some gluten.

 

Whole Wheat & Spelt Blueberry Muffins

Whole Wheat & Spelt Blueberry Muffins

As I may have mentioned before, Ron’s favorite rye bread is a cranberry-nut rye I make from Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook, 2005 (page 298), and which I mentioned in an earlier blog.  I doubled the recipe in order to have 2 loaves, one as a gift.  Other changes included substituting 3 cups of emmer flour, ¾ cup of whole wheat flour, and ¼ cup of gluten flour for the bread flour and using walnuts instead of pecans.  Otherwise, I followed the recipe as is.

 

Cranberry-Walnut Rye Bread

Cranberry-Walnut Rye Bread

Delicious as always.  Nevertheless, another change I do believe I’ll make next time is to cut the amount of salt added to the bread – at least by half.  The sea salt sprinkled over the top of the bread is just right, however, no problems there.

Have you used spelt flour before?  What do you think of it and how it affects the baked bread/muffin/whatever?

Remember to keep baking and keep experimenting!

Enjoy!

BYOB

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

