Protein Packed Bran Rolls

For a pleasant, casual dinner outside (mid-80s, if you can believe it!) I made whole grain protein packed bran rolls from my 1983 Farm Journal’s Homemade Pies, Cookies & Bread book (page 630).  While I did not use the soaking method I’ve been experimenting with, I did put the dough in the refrigerator overnight and baked the rolls in muffin pans just before dinner.

 

High Protein & Fiber Rolls

High Protein & Fiber Rolls

This no-kneading recipe produced tender, light textured rolls in spite of the whole grain flours used.

Interestingly, I used unprocessed wheat bran from Hodgson Mill, who had almost the same exact recipe on the Hodgson Mill box.  One difference was that the Hodgson Mill recipe called for ½ cup butter instead of the ½ cup shortening called for in the Farm Journal’s recipe.  Both used white flour, which, as you know by now, I don’t use if I can avoid it.  I replaced the white flour with Emmer and soy flours.  The changes I made to the Farm Journal’s recipe are:

Farm Journal                                                              My Changes

½ c sugar                                                                    ½ c blue agave

3 c sifted all-purpose flour                                         2 ½ c Emmer flour

½ c soy flour

One person said the rolls were slightly sweet.  I think the sweetness may be due to my not reducing the amount of blue agave I substituted for the sugar.  However, he also said that he liked the taste.  So, yes, it could have used less blue agave; however, the 1:1 ratio of blue agave to sugar, while not necessary, didn’t appear to overpower the rolls.  Another guest commented that the rolls had a pleasant nutty flavor.  A dozen rolls disappeared without a trace among four diners, so I’d say these rolls were a success!

If you want a tasty, light textured roll for your dinner party, try these protein and fiber rich rolls.  You won’t be disappointed.

Enjoy!

Pam

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

