Bread with Whole Wheat, Emmer, and Mesquite Flours using Soaking Method

I wanted to make a whole grain bread using the soaking method from Nourishing Traditions, so I tried Sally Fallon’s whole wheat Yeasted Buttermilk Bread (page 493).  Unfortunately, or fortunately as the case may be, she also included one cup of unbleached white flour in the recipe.  So, following my rule of “no white flour,” I substituted the heritage Emmer and Mesquite flours for the white flour.  These were the changes I made:

Original Recipe                                  My Changes

2 Tbl honey                             2 Tbl blue agave

1 cup buttermilk                     2 cups buttermilk (to give my dough the proper consistency)

1 cup white flour                    ¼ cup mesquite flour

¾ cup Emmer flour

As with the blueberry muffins I made last week (and again earlier this week when I also added black walnuts to the blueberries; delicious) the texture of the bread was light.  Quite different from what I normally expect from a whole grain bread.

The recipe made 2 loaves and I put one in the refrigerator to keep it fresh.  Ron insisted that it would not be necessary to freeze the second loaf, since the first won’t last very long.  And, he was right.  I baked it late last night and the first loaf is already almost gone!  Homemade bread can be dangerous!

 

Bread with Whole Wheat, Emmer, Mesquite Flours

Bread with Whole Wheat, Emmer, Mesquite Flours

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Baking, Process and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

