Flourless Chocolate Cake

According to James Peterson in his book, Baking, a flourless cake is a baked mousse (p. 368). And, I’ll take his word for it, because I’ve never done one before. I’ve only had a flourless cake once before many years ago, and while I remember thinking it was terrific, I didn’t really know anything about it or learn how to make one. At the time I thought it must be too difficult to make – for one thing, I wondered where a person found the nut “flour” that replaces the regular flour.

Now I know. It’s really an easy cake to make. First, I made the almond flour in my grinder – the same grinder I use when I grind flax seeds into a flour-like consistency. I have a coffee grinder that I never use for coffee beans because once something is used for coffee I don’t seem to be able to ever get the coffee flavor out of the unit. This grinder only gets used for flax seeds – and now for almonds as well. 🙂

Our family tradition is to bake a chocolate cake for special occasions, especially birthdays. But what to do about avoiding white flour? I could have used whole wheat in place of the white flour, but that wasn’t as appealing as trying out this flourless chocolate cake recipe in James Peterson’s book (p. 368). 

Last night I baked the cake.  And, yes, this time I actually followed the directions exactly as directed.  When the cake came out of the oven looking nice and plump but later slumped in on itself, I didn’t worry because Peterson had already warned that this would happen.

Here is a picture of the results:

Flourless Chocolate Cake

Flourless Chocolate Cake

Peterson suggested either frosting the cake or eating it with a dollop of whipped cream. While I absolutely love chocolate frosting, I went with the whipped cream partly because it had less sugar in it than the whipped cream. Turns out, whipped cream is a wonderful balance to this moist, wonderful chocolaty (is that a word?) cake.

This flourless chocolate cake was a big hit and will be a repeat recipe in the future.

By the way, Peterson’s book, Baking, has 1500 photographs in it, showing in great detail how to make the various breads and treats. If you’re an amateur baker, as I am, this is definitely a book worth including in your baking library. If you’re an expert baker, I can’t say, because I don’t know what you would think. Whatever your level of expertise, check Baking out and let us know what you think about the book and this wonderful chocolate – flourless – cake recipe.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

