Whole Grain Banana Bread with flax

Today was a day for removing ice and snow.  What better way to help those tasks along than to have Banana Bread  as a treat for finishing our work?  So, I made up 3 small loaves of Better Banana Bread from http://www.thefreshloaf.com/recipes/bananabread before heading out to face our ice challenge.

I made 3 small loaves because the site suggested making small loaves and freezing the ones not eaten – to keep them fresh.  Not a bad idea.  So, that’s what I did.

The recipe called for a both whole wheat and all-purpose flour.  Therefore, as usual, the changes I made were in using whole grain flours and no all-purpose unbleached white flours:

Recipe                                                            My Changes

1 ½ cup all-purpose unbleached flour      1 cup organic whole grain Emmer flour

¼ cup ground almonds

¼ cup ground flax seeds

The reason I used ground almonds was because I had them available, left over from an attempt at making a flourless chocolate cake.  What else would I use them for?  Any suggestions?

The flax seed was for more obvious reasons: an increase in fiber.

Here is a photo of my results:

 

Whole Grain Banana Bread with Flax

Whole Grain Banana Bread with Flax

Although these look good, the centers were not baked as well as they should have been – and that’s after leaving them in the oven for an extra 10 minutes and then again (after coming in from attacking the ice & snow) giving them another 10 minutes in the oven.  From what I observed in the comments others made, this was not unusual.  Suggestion: give the loaves a lot more time to bake.

What’s your favorite banana bread recipe?

NOTE: February 5: I can’t seem to get this bread right, no matter how many times I rebake it.  So, don’t follow my changes, something isn’t working.  The loaves are gummy and not very good.

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

